First week teaching at PP2 and last before Easter.

On Monday I started teaching again. The lesson with year 9 did not go as well as I’d hoped but I’m hoping it’s just getting used to a new way of working. I did have a really productive day and I’ve planned for the rest of the week so now it’s just doing it and getting prepared for what I have to do over Easter.

On Tuesday I taught two lesson, getting grade 2 ‘good’ for both and got some really good feedback. I also had quite a productive day.

Wednesday was my fairly free day so I got lots done but I also felt really ill – shivery and cold so in the evening I had a bath and just went to bed in the hope that I’d feel better.

Thursday was meant to be a busy day but in the middle of the night I woke up with a migraine and didn’t make it into school. Not a productive day in terms of I just lay in bed in a dark room and felt sorry for myself but actually in the end it did me good.

On Friday I tried to catch up with my CM seeing as I’d missed my CM meeting on Thursday. I had a really good lesson with year 9. I realised that my suspicions were correct about the pupils – they’re testing me, Kate confirmed this, and my initial instinct to tell them off were correct. I only held back as because they’re more able I didn’t want to patronise them but I realise I must earn their respect by being strong and sometimes they need to realise that they’re still children for them moment, only lacking a certain emotional maturity.

We finished at lunch time. It was great to be able to come home and dump my stuff and hang out with Greg and my brother who is visiting this weekend. We got lots done on the garden and went out for a lovely meal with Greg’s best friend. Lots of red wine was had.

This weekend I think I’m going to take off completely, or as completely as my conscience will let me. There’s still pleanty to get done on the garden and I’m looking forward to spending time with my brother.

I do have lots to do over Easter – planning for my classes, that I take over full time after Easter and research for my assignment but I also intend to have lots of rest and spend time doing what I want to do. Spring is my favourite season – everything is waking up, the days are getting brighter and longer and warmer and most of the time I want to be outside and soaking it all up. It’s also my birthday soon, after all. Watch this space.

TTFN X

Leave a comment

Filed under PGCE, Placement 2, teacher training

Leave a Reply

