Second week at PP2.

First week at PP2

On Monday I felt like I hit the ground running. I observed all my classes and even partially taught year 10 as there was a cover teacher in there.

On Tuesday I did the same and managed to speak to all my teachers about what I’ll be teaching after Easter until June half term. I feel like I now have a clear idea and have got a copy of all the staff resources. I just need to check out the schemes of work now and print them ready for full on planning over the Easter holidays. I also managed to get a big chunk of my planning assignment done so I’m onto the last part. That also has to be done over this weekend.

Wednesday was a fairly free day and hence really productive. During period 1 I was involved with department marking, moderating and input which was fun. It was nice to spend time with the department. I also managed my CMs class during period 2 while she sorted some things from the marking. The rest of the day I got a good chunk of an assignment done which I was pleased about. I was then hopeful that I might even finish it before the weekend leaving that free for planning my 6 lessons.

My first observation was also arranged with my CL&VT for Tuesday but all that’s to come.

Thursday was quite a busy day. I even taught the year 10s a bit while they were calm. It wasn’t as good as I’d hoped as the class teacher kind of launched me into them mid lesson but it went ok. I managed to get quite a bit of my assignment done – steady as she goes. I also had my second CM meeting which went well. We agreed it’s all about planning next week.

On Friday I was on a school trip for the majority of the day to Preston Sports arena. I hoped that I would get some work done however this turned out not to be the case. It was a very busy and hectic day and the kids were very excitable. If nothing else it taught me that I can manage behaviour.

The weekend will be spent finishing off my planning assignment and planning lessons for the coming week. I hope I also get chance to spend some time in the sun as the weather forecaste is very promising.

TTFN

Leave a comment

Filed under PGCE, Placement 2, teacher training

Leave a Reply

