Last week before PP2.

One more week till placement 2 and I still had lots to get through at the start of the week. Monday, therefore, was a very hectic day. I did all the washing and seeing as it was such a lovely day dried a lot of it outside! Then I did a job application and lots of admin. I even found time to organise my potting station. During the day I got a phone call inviting me to an ‘informal chat’ with the head of department of the school I applied for last week so I’ll be going to that on Wednesday and I have an inkling that the interview might be on Friday.

On Tuesday I was in uni. First I went to the library and got a load of books out for my upcoming assessments so that was successful. I then went to my lecture on A Level and we finished around lunch time. When I got home I cracked on with my second submission of my critical reflection which went really well and I think I’ve finished. I’ve just got to proofread at a later date. Afterwards I got everything ready for my busy day on Wednesday.

On Wednesday I had a bit of a nightmare. Our shopping was late so that threw me off right from the get go. Then I was nervous all day and couldn’t get things done. I went to the dentist and got a clean bill of health for my teeth but forgot my purse! After that I ate some lunch and got ready for my ‘informal chat’. I went and had a hot drive there. It only took half an hour to wonder round but I forgot to ask any questions. I didn’t think I’d done very well but now I have an interview on Friday! So in the evening I briefly planned my lesson and planned for Thursday to be taken over by lesson planning and interview preparation.

On Thursday I took stock of everything and realised that hopefully I might not have that much left to do by the end of the week, which felt really good. I got on with my interview preparation and tried to be calm about it all.

I also went to get my nails done for the first time ever! I figured I deserved it and it might make me feel more confident for my interview and first placement.

On Friday it was interview day! I didn’t get it. It was a really strange interview. There were meant to be 6 of us but one candidate didn’t show, so there were 5 of us. We pretty much went straight into the 25 minute lesson. It wasn’t a great lesson, but it wasn’t awful. I had about 25 minutes while the other group of candidates taught so I made some quick reflection notes to talk about and went over some of the questions I thought they might ask. After that, they took two of us into another room and told us we hadn’t been successful … so I didn’t even get the chance to interview and the head (I presume it was the head) didn’t even introduce herself or shake my hand … I also know there were three positions available – one permanent and two maternity cover so they made their decision based on the 25 minute lesson alone … I do feel a bit put out that I never got the chance to talk to them really but there you go. On to the next one. I’m still going to ring up on Monday during my lunch break and try to get some feedback and I applied for another on Friday night.

Over the weekend I wanted a really good rest before starting the last stage of my PGCE – PP2. I don’t intend to do much work so that’ll be nice and something to look forward to.

IMG_20170311_113633_887

Sweetpeas

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Get into Teaching, PGCE, teacher training

Leave a Reply

