A crazy week: rearranging observations, an interview, my first ‘Outstanding’ Lesson.

Hi Everyone, this week has been crazy!

On Monday I managed to finish all my lesson planning and thought I might manage to have an easy week of it and then I found out I had an interview on Thursday! That meant I had to do a load of prep and rearrange my formal observation – nightmare. That one was a late night

On Tuesday my partner drove me to the school where I’m having my interview after I’d spent all day cramming for it. I also had two classess worth of mock marking to do. I spent the evening doing even more prepping

On Wednesday I had my first ‘Outstanding’ lesson in Drama which was really exciting. I also did the last of my prepping for my interview and met with some colleagues to go over what I had planned and receive some feedback.

On Thursday I had my interview. It was very intense – I had a 1:1 with the head followed by a 20 minute lesson, a curriculum interview and an interview with the pupils (which was lovely). After lunch all the PGCE students were let go and 2/5 went on to the final stage of the interview. They were both more experienced teachers – one of 6 years and the other had just finished her NQT year. Never the less, we were all told we could ring for feedback the following day which I did. I was told that the big debate over lunch time was whether or not to keep me on, so that was nice to hear. After my interview I got home at about 2 and did nothing for the first time in weeks. I was absolutely mentally exhausted.

On Friday my course leader wanted a word – she knew how much I had going on and wanted to check up on me. She also told me that the place I’d provisionally been given for my PP2 placement was going to change and wanted to check that it was ok as it is quite far away (40 + minutes) Greg and I are going to drive it over the weekend to see what it’s like.

Over the weekend I need to have a bloody good rest but I also need to pan for my lessons for next week including my observed lesson on Thursday – the last day! I also have several forms to take care of and paperwork for the final week. I’m also going for a meal out with some friends on Saturday so I’m really looking forward to that.

I can’t believe next week is my final week at my placement 1 school. Before Christmas I didn’t think I’d make it to this point and now I feel like I’ve just started to belong. Having said that I think I’m ready to move on to somewhere new – a fresh start, a fresh challenge.

Wish my luck! TTFN x

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under PGCE, Placement 1, teacher training

One response to “A crazy week: rearranging observations, an interview, my first ‘Outstanding’ Lesson.

  1. Sounds like you did really well in your interview hun, well done! They could see the potential in you, other employers will see that too. And if you survived an interview that intense you can do anything! 😉

Leave a Reply

