Starting to feel like a proper Teacher.

On Monday I had a nice day. A good lesson and a poor lesson, but I learnt a lot from it. I also got some lesson planning and admin done.

Tuesday was a bit of a muddled day. I felt really unorganised but for no reason really and my lesson didn’t go as well as I hoped. I now need to re-build my class’ confidence in me and make sure I’m on the top of my game with my lesson plans.

During Wednesday I had my first ‘formal observation’. I tried not to sweat it too much and to view it just as any other lesson and I felt it went ok. Somehow had a really busy day today although I’m not sure what I did over and above the usual. Maybe it’s catching up with me.

On Thursday I had my second ‘formal observations’ and received a solid ‘good’ for each of them. I also attended my first year 7 parents evening which was interesting. I’ve wanted to do lesson planning all week but I’m just too tired.

On Friday we had behaviour management session and a session on job applications which was really useful.

Over the weekend we’re having a quiet one again so that I can finish off my assignment. The word count, although under, is satisfactory and just needs proof reading. Other than that I hope I can get up to speed on lesson planning and some other admin before school next week.

It’s worth saying that I feel much better after my return from Christmas. Taking control of my own classes has really helped and I finally feel like a proper teacher and a proper trainee. Long may it continue.

Leave a comment

Filed under Get into Teaching, PGCE, Placement 1, teacher training

Leave a Reply

