The First (short) Week Back.

On Monday I woke up and got lots of housework done. I’d taken down the tree and all the decorations the previous day. I don’t much like having them up after New Year and take them down as soon as possible. I also got some assignment and job application done.

Over the next week I planned to work on lessons during the day, during my free periods and work on my assignment in the evenings and weekend. I’d also found a job to apply for which was nearly done – it just needed cutting down.

Tuesday was quite a relaxed day as I had two free periods and a meeting – so only two lessons to observe, nevertheless I felt anxious. I used the time to print what I had to do and go over my two lessons for the next day. I also planned what I was going to do when in my free periods.

After school in my meeting my timetable was edited to give me some more free time which has made me feel a little bit better. I’m closer to teaching 50% now than I thought.

During Wednesday I was due to deliver two lessons but the drama teacher was ill and had set written cover work so I actually had quite a lot of time to do planning. I delivered a year 10 lesson which went fairly well and progressed a lot with my work. I have had an awful lot of email to attend to and admin to do which means I finished late but I felt less anxious afterwards and hope I can stay afloat till the evening.

On Thursday, like Wednesday, I delivered two lessons. I actually really enjoyed them and anxiety was kept to a minimum. I also felt like people at school responded to me better. A good day.

On Friday I was back at uni, which was nice. We had a conference on assessment which could have been really dull but we had some excellent speakers. I also managed to get a bit of lesson planning done.

Over the weekend I intend to work on my assignment for the most part and get my job application sent off.

TTFN

Leave a comment

Filed under PGCE, Placement 1, teacher training

Leave a Reply

