The week before half term.

On Monday year 8 were doing their assessment so I managed to get quite a lot of my year 10 MTP done. It’s taking longer than I expected but I think I’m getting there … it’s just quite faffy and I have to cross reference everything. This evening we also had a two hour meeting so I didn’t do anymore work on it once I got home – self preservation and all that.

On Tuesday I felt very much at a loose end I had two frees followed by a professional mentor meeting which was cut short … my curriculum mentor then came in and asked me which lessons I’d been in, so I told her the truth …  later in the day I also had my meeting with my curriculum mentor and I finally feel like we’re coming to the same sort of thoughts on things. I am to come back after half term with some starters and plenaries planned for y7 literacy in particular and y7 drama, I may even look at some for my y8s and y10s too and see if I can come up with any. She also increased my observations which is fine by me at the moment and I will opt out as soon as I need more time for planning and things.

During Wednesday I felt a bit more busy I had lots on but in my frees I didn’t manage to get a lot done, or it felt like I didn’t but I did get one section done so it can’t have been that bad

Thursday was a bit of a non-day as most of the day was spent doing assessments, which are to be marked over half term. I did however have a good y8 lesson where I got stuck in with some feedback and dot marking.

On Friday I went to uni. We did Behaviour II which was fantastic, poundland pedagogy which I’ve done before and finally poetry I which I loved. I found out that my MTP is not nearly finished at all which was a massive blow but this weekend we’re seeing some friends and I really want to dedicate a day to spending time with Greg as I feel like we haven’t seen each other properly for ages. I know I’ll have the days during half term to do what I need to do so it only seems fair. I’m trying to avoid freaking out.

I have a lot to do over half term. I want to: Finish my y10 medium term plan fully, including my assessment. I want to have starters/plenaries for all year groups that I’m teaching. I want to have my y7 literacy lesson planned and practiced and I want to make a start on my y8 MTP … not to mention catch up on jobs around the house, find time for reading, relaxing and sleeping and to spend some quality time with Greg … I’m not sure I’m going to manage it all but the most important thing I think is the sleep, the relaxation and spending time with Greg … if I sacrifice those things during term time I must catch up on them during the holiday otherwise I know I’ll just burn out. I have to be strict with myself though and not work too hard.

TTFN X

Leave a comment

Filed under PGCE, Placement 1, teacher training

Leave a Reply

