Argy bargy, planning and one week till half term!

On Monday I had a fairly normal day but didn’t manage to have a meeting with my CM after school as a progress leader (year 9 form) meeting was sprung on me.

On Tuesday I had my PM meeting which was good and I got the opportunity to chat with my fellow trainees although they all seem to have been told different things about what their course leaders expect which is confusing. I also started work on my ‘noticing booklet’ which one of the other girls on my course gave me and which is really useful.

During Wednesday I managed to find my year 10 SOW and started re-planning my MTPs for after Christmas as there has been some argy bargy between my CL and CM as to when exactly I should start teaching and what my focus should be.

The drama class I attended was the same lesson as last week but I can see how it’s evolved now. The teacher has kept what went well and evolved it to be even better which was nice to see. It also gave me some interesting perspectives in terms of differences from English.

In year 10 English it was nice to see my CM deviate from her original lesson plan to give pupils information about the mock exam they’ll set next week – adhering to their needs.

In the afternoon I met with the SENCO of the school and discussed some pupils and what can be done in terms of differentiation but, all in all, they’re a very able cohort.

On Thursday I practically completed a MTP for Year 7 literacy however this may not be where my focus should be. It’s hard to be being pulled in two directions at once and I’m finding it hard to be strong in what’s best for me.

On Friday it was nice to be back at uni. We covered behaviour management and the psychological and hormonal reasons why teenagers may be poorly behaved. We also covered meaningful marking.

This weekend I am at my Mum’s for a family friends 60th birthday. It’s nice to be home with all my family and to be with my cat. He’s not been very well but I think he’s a bit better now he’s on a different diet. I’m soaking up all my time with him.

Here’s to one more week until half term, when hopefully I can get caught up with everything!

TTFN

Leave a comment

Filed under Get into Teaching, PGCE, Placement 1, teacher training, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

