Happy New Year!

Happy New Year Everybody!

And with the New Year comes new challenges. I was hoping that January would bring with it new resolve and motivation with regards to my NQT tests but at the moment I just haven’t managed to find that yet. It is only my first week back into work though so I guess I’m still trying to find my feet, best not to be too hard on myself.

One thing that this new year has already brought though, is a sense of perspective. In six months I will move schools, houses, jobs, counties … I will leave everything behind and start again. This is a very refreshing and liberating feeling and with it comes impatience. I think that over Christmas I have really come to terms with my decisions and also had the opportunity to talk to my family about what I plan to do. Now that I’ve decided that I’m doing it and realised that it is going to happen I just want to get my preparations underway. I’m already pestering Greg about a moving schedule!

First things first though and that begins with the NQT tests. Yesterday I had a meeting until 5 and so was in no fit state once I got home to start work on them but I did establish where I’d got to prior to the holidays and the gaps that I’d managed to fill in the first week off before Christmas.

Today I attempted to apply for funding but discovered that Student Finance isn’t yet open so I’ll revisit that in the coming weeks. I did however, manage to do a bit of numeracy and established that it isn’t really up to scratch. I’m trying not to worry too much about this as my literacy is up first and I was really pleased with how that went last time I took a test. I intend to take another this week to see if the first was just a fluke and after that I should have a better idea of my literacy expectations and hopefully then it’ll just be a case of keeping my hand in. As for the numeracy, this weekend I want to go over some of the topics that I don’t understand with Greg and perhaps on Thursday I can make notes of the topics I need to work on ready for that – sounds like a plan.

So that’s my first week back into work. No doubt I’ll update you on the literacy practice that I do tomorrow and my reflections and conclusions on that.

I hope that you all had a very restful, recharging and enjoyable Christmas and that the New Year brings you inspiration for the coming year.

Leave a comment

Filed under career, life changes, teacher training

Leave a Reply

